Little girl. Big feat!

 

 Embrace your differences and the qualities about you that you think are weird. Eventually, they’re going to be the only things separating you from everyone else.   

-Sebastian Stan

cropped-girl.jpg

Book jacket for Little girl, big feet. Little girl, big feat!

Meet our heroine, Matilda. A little girl with extremely big feet and an even bigger heart who eventually realizes the one thing that makes her sad is also the one thing that makes her out stand! Little Matilda has really, really, big feet and feels awkward and ashamed her feet are larger than her classmates and will try just about anything to make them smaller. One day, her perfectly large feet help rescue a child and in doing so uncovers an unbeknownst talent she’s had all along. In this book I open the “ugly duckling” door and give children a glimpse at the unfamiliar and try to help them realize that their differences are truly special talents that lie just beneath the surface. This book gives them the courage to be proud of themselves, do away with shameful thoughts, and embrace their bare uniqueness and all that comes with being different from the rest.

lilgirlpainting

Traditional paint used to create the first stage.

3


The initial painting later dropped in to Photoshop to develop background.

cropped-girlontree35.jpg

Book to be released in 2017

     This is a wonderfully, encouraging picture book for children of all ages. It’s a must read book to assist every child’s struggle with adversity, self doubt and to help them realize their awesome potential.

2 thoughts on “Little girl. Big feat!

  1. Laura, this is so exciting! I had no idea you were writing a book😳 I love the synopsis of the book. I feel it’s going to be a huge success. I have four grandchildren, all girls who love to read. I can’t wait to purchase this one for them! Prayers for the release and in future endeavors.
    Best,
    Valerie Hiers

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my. You made me blush! Haha! Thanks Valerie. I really wanted to be finished with most of the illustrations before I told everyone, but somehow promoting it now forces me to get the artwork done faster. Todd didn’t tell me that he posted my work on his FB page until today so it was a surprise seeing people from the worksite “like” my page. It Felt good. I’ll let you know when it’s complete.

      Your words meant a lot. Thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

